Google

Web forums.longhaircommunity.com

View Full Version : Pictures of grey hair coloured with sage?

Cathy88z
January 15th, 2007, 11:26 PM
Hi,
I have been colouring my hair with henna for the last 5 or 6 months, and I love it. I have about 50-60% grey (natural colour brunette). I have been thinking about using sage instead, mainly because of the regrowth line. It is always so obvious!! After two weeks it is like a white line down my head.

I have heard that sage will just give a bit of colour to the grey, and the regrowth won't be so noticeable. I am also toying with the idea that some time in the future, i may want to just let the grey show. If I keep hennaing, it will be difficult with growing out the grey, because of the obvious look. I am only 47, and not sure if I want to be 'all grey' yet.

Are there any pictures anywhere of women who have used sage to cover their grey hair? Or maybe a really good description of how much colour I can expect. If it just takes away the 'greyness' for now, I would be happy.

Thanks Cathy

unaspenser
January 16th, 2007, 12:06 AM
I don't know anything about using sage for color, but I wanted to suggest a couple of routes for growing out... you could try Nightshade's method, which uses heat and oils to leech out as much color as possible, then colorfix shampoo to remove even more. You could try to make the transition more gentle by doing henna glosses instead of full on mud treatments...

What color does sage make your hair? I'd love to learn more!

Rini
January 16th, 2007, 12:42 AM
Hi Cathy, I am currently growing out my henna and plan on doing henna/indigo glosses on my silver roots. It is supposed to give a "blonde" look to the silver hair, so you are kind of growing out your greys, but subtley.

I don't know much about Sage, but I'm sure the lovely Nightshade will be along shortly with some advice for you :D

physicschick
January 16th, 2007, 04:04 AM