Google

Web forums.longhaircommunity.com

View Full Version : Be Afraid!

Soulscribe66
May 26th, 2006, 07:05 PM
Am I the only one who finds this unnerving?

I'm at the store checking out and the women behind the counter turns her head rather quickly and . . . her hair DOESN'T MOVE! It really creeps me out when someones hair is solid. It reminds me of the early '80s when a gust of wind hits and the entire side of their head lifts. Sort of like a crunchy toupee. I also hate hugging someone and their hair crunches in my ear.

citymorningblue
May 26th, 2006, 07:14 PM
Oh gosh, I know exactly what you mean! My mom's hair is a neck-length blonde hairspray helmet so I have a lot of experience with this. It freaks me out every time. I'm perpetually begging her to kick the hairspray habit but she claims she "needs" it. :no:

Soulscribe66
May 26th, 2006, 07:19 PM
:rollin::rollin: Oh the mental picture I have of a blonde hairspray helmet. Too funny!

Tsuyu
May 26th, 2006, 07:27 PM
I don't think I have seen one before in real life but the thought of the helmet thing cracks me up..

Autumn
May 26th, 2006, 07:35 PM
I agree, solid hair is disturbing. Its fine if people want to use a little gel or something, but if your hair is crunchy you are overdoing it. I fail to understand peoples' desire to coat their hair with styling products like gel or hairspray. In my opinion, they often make the hair look worse instead of better, ruining the natural shine and texture of the hair. Also, such products are bad for the hair and the scalp.

My mother washes and conditions her hair every day, gets it highlighted, and rips through it with a plastic brush in a way that makes me cringe. When I lived at home, I watched her fix her hair for a night out by putting it in rollers, blowdrying it, brushing it with a plastic brush and spraying it with hair spray. Not exactly the best hair role model. Thank goodness I found LHC!